Ask Pat: What should I do if my daughter and I have different opinions about her wedding gown?

Dear Pat: I will be helping my daughter shop for her wedding gown in a couple of weeks, but am worried about upsetting her with my opinions on dress styles. I love my daughter, but know from past experiences shopping with her that we do not see eye-to-eye on most things. She has already sent me pictures of styles she’s interested in, and they are nothing close to what I had in mind for her. I want her to love her dress and be happy, but I am afraid that I might ruin her shopping experience if I speak my mind. How would you advise I handle this? 

Chances are if you’re worried about differing opinions on the wedding dress, your daughter is as well. She likely knows that you disagree with the styles she’s interested in, but she wants you to be there by her side when she says yes to the dress because she loves you, and she respects your opinion. The key to you both having a great shopping experience will be to keep in mind exactly what you just told me–you want her to love her dress and be happy. When she asks what you think about a dress be honest with her about certain elements of the dress you like and dislike, but remind her that you want her to have what she wants regardless of your opinion. If you sense she’s fallen in love with a dress, be supportive. Just remember that she’s your daughter, and you’ll be glad you had the chance to share the shopping experience with her.

Leave a Reply

