Ask Pat: Do I need a separate dress for my wedding reception?

Hi Pat! I recently went wedding gown shopping and have found that I really love the look of ball gowns, but I’m concerned about being able to dance in it, especially with the long train dragging behind me! If I do decide to get a ball gown, should I get a different dress for the reception? I just want to be sure I’ll be able to bust a move on my wedding day.

Just because you’re getting a ball gown dress doesn’t mean you necessarily need a second dress in order to comfortably dance the night away. Often once the dress is in your size and altered to fit properly, you’ll find that moving around in it is much easier than when you tried on the store sample. Having a bustle built into the dress to get the train out of the way will also help so much–it will keep you (and your guests) from stepping on it.

All that being said, if you’re planning a big first dance number or you know you’ll want to be completely unencumbered by the many layers most ball gowns have, then getting a second reception dress is definitely a good idea! Your dress shouldn’t get in the way of you having a great time at your wedding.

Have a question you’re dying to ask a bridal consultant? Email your questions to pat@sealedwithakissbridal.com and one of our experienced consultants will be more than happy to help. Your question might even make it on the blog!

Leave a Reply

