Ask Pat: Did I say yes to the dress too soon?

Dear Pat: I went wedding gown shopping last month, and fell in love with a dress at the very first store I visited–I had wanted a V-neck ballgown, and I found what I thought was the perfect one. I thought about it overnight and went back to the salon to purchase it the very next day. Then this week I went to a different bridal salon intending to shop for bridesmaids dresses, but I got so distracted by the beauty of their wedding gowns that I found myself asking to try a few on, and really loved a few other styles. Did I say yes to my dress so soon? Now I feel like I might be missing out on better styles out there. 

It’s not uncommon to second guess your wedding gown decision–it’s a tough choice to make, especially when there really are so many truly beautiful dresses out there! As you said, it was exactly what you were looking for, you thought about it overnight and you were positive it was “the one,” so no, I don’t think you said yes to a dress so soon.

We strongly recommend NOT trying on more gowns after you’ve found the perfect one as it can lead to second-guessing, but as you already have done that, I would suggest returning to the first bridal salon to re-try the dress you said yes to. Once you’re in it again, it’s likely that all the happy feelings you had about the dress will return, and you’ll remember why you thought it was perfect. Hopefully that will make you confident that you did make the right decision.

Have a question you’re dying to ask a bridal consultant? Email pat@sealedwithakissbridal.com with your question, and our consultants will be more than happy to help–you might even see your question on the blog!

 

Leave a Reply

